How many bishops are in the Anglican Communion?

How many bishops are in the Anglican Communion?

883 bishops
As of 2020 the Anglican Communion (as recognised by the Anglican Consultative Council) consists of 865 dioceses and 18 additional Ordinary jurisdictions (see list below) giving a total of 883 bishops; this total includes 77 archbishops (or equivalents, such as ‘Presiding Bishop’), of whom 41 have the status of ‘primate …

How many Anglican bishops are in Nigeria?

Presently, there are 170 serving Bishops and Archbishops in the Anglican Church of Nigeria, manning 14 provinces, 161 dioceses, one Nomadic Mission, two foreign Missionary dioceses and some institutions of the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion), which membership is estimated at over twenty million, with more than …

How many diocese are in Church of Nigeria Anglican Communion?

During his ten years in office, 86 dioceses were created (both fully-fledged and missionary dioceses). Information on the Church Year Calendar depicts that from 2001 to 2005, 22 dioceses were created. These were the Dioceses of Esan and Ika in 2001, Oyo and Okirika in 2003, Ahoada and Ekiti-Oke in 2004.

Who are the Anglican bishops?

Table of bishops

Bishop Year Consecrated Diocese/Jurisdiction
Todd Atkinson 2019 Anglican Network in Canada-Via Apostolica
Andrew Williams 2019 II New England
Ryan Reed 2019 IV Fort Worth
Mark Engel 2021 III Great Lakes

Who is the head of the Anglican Communion?

The archbishop of Canterbury
The archbishop of Canterbury is the head of the Anglican communion by precedent, but his role is that of primus inter pares (first among equals), and he has no direct authority to tell the different churches what to do.

Who is the youngest Anglican bishop in Nigeria?

He decided to become an Anglican priest at a very young age. He passed with distinction is first school leaving examination in 1944 and was a teacher for 6 years….Joseph Abiodun Adetiloye.

The Right Reverend Joseph Abiodun Adetiloye
Church Church of Nigeria
See Abuja
In office December 1986 – December 1999

Who is the head of the Anglican Church in Nigeria?

Reverend Henry C. Ndukuba
Henry Chukwudum Ndukuba (born 18 July 1961) is a Primate of the Church of Nigeria….Henry Ndukuba.

The Most Reverend Henry C. Ndukuba
Archdiocese Anglican Province of Jos
Diocese Anglican Diocese of Gombe
Elected September, 2019
Installed 25 March 2020

What do Anglican bishops do?

The majority of bishops in the Anglican Communion are the spiritual, pastoral, and executive heads of dioceses. A diocesan bishop is the Ordinary of his or her diocese, and has wide-ranging legal and administrative responsibilities.

Who are the members of Anglican Communion?

The Anglican communion is an association of independent Anglican churches from 38 provinces. With 80 million members, it is the third largest Christian body in the world, after the Roman Catholic and Orthodox churches. Each of the 38 provinces has a chief bishop or archbishop, known as a primate.

What churches make up the Anglican Communion?


  • Autonomous churches.
  • Episcopal Church of the United States.
  • Church in the Province of the West Indies.
  • Anglican Church in Central America.
  • Anglican Church of South America.
  • Anglican Church of Southern Africa.
  • Church of the Province of Central Africa.
  • Church of the Province of West Africa.

Who is the oldest bishop in Nigeria?

Francis Arinze

His Eminence Francis Arinze
Born 1 November 1932 Onitsha, Colony of Nigeria
Nationality Nigerian
Denomination Roman Catholic

Who is the oldest priest in Nigeria?

John Cross Anyogu (11 March 1898 – 5 July 1967) was a Nigerian clergyman who, on 9 June 1957, became the first member of his Igbo community to be consecrated a Roman Catholic bishop.