What does Section 508 apply to?

What does Section 508 apply to?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act (29 U.S.C. § 794d) requires federal agencies to develop, procure, maintain or use Information and Communications Technology (ICT) that is accessible to people with disabilities – regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government.

Who is affected by Section 508?

Who needs to be 508 compliant? Section 508 doesn’t only apply to federal agencies. It also impacts any organization that does business with a federal agency or receives federal funding. This includes private contractors, the financial industry, healthcare, many legal organizations, and others.

What is included in 508 compliance?

Section 508 requires that the federal government procure, create, use and maintain ICT that is accessible to people with disabilities, regardless of whether or not they work for the federal government.

Is Section 508 the same as ADA?

Ultimately, ADA protects the civil rights of persons with disabilities participating in interstate commerce; whereas Section 508 is a set of regulations related to access to Government ICT. 508 compliance provides accessibility for digitally published material within government agencies and entities.

How does Section 508 of the ADA Americans with Disabilities Act impact federal agencies?

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act specifically covers federal agencies but has an impact on the greater public. Section 508 requires federal departments or agencies that develop, procure, maintain, or use electronic and information technology, to ensure that the electronic and information technology is accessible.

Who is directly affected by the accessibility for Ontarians with disabilities Act?

The AODA became law on June 13, 2005 and applies to all levels of government, nonprofits, and private sector businesses in Ontario that have one or more employees (full-time, part-time, seasonal, or contract).

What disabilities are included in AODA?

For instance, disabilities include:

  • Blindness or visual impairment.
  • Deafness or hearing disabilities.
  • Speech impairment.
  • Physical or mobility disabilities, such as: Paralysis. Amputation. Difficulty with balance or coordination.
  • Brain injury.
  • Epilepsy.
  • Intellectual disabilities.
  • Learning disabilities.

How many Ontarians have disabilities?

In Ontario, approximately 2.6 million people have a disability. This means roughly one in four Ontarians live with a disability and face various types of accessibility challenges in their every day life.

What is the difference between Section 508 and WCAG?

We’ve looked at the differences between Section 508 and WCAG and it comes down to this: 508 is a United States federal law. WCAG is a set of guidelines recognized around the world.

How do I make my website disability friendly?

Top 10 Tips for Making Your Website Accessible

  1. Choose a content management system that supports accessibility.
  2. Use headings correctly to organize the structure of your content.
  3. Include proper alt text for images.
  4. Give your links unique and descriptive names.
  5. Use color with care.
  6. Design your forms for accessibility.

Which of the following are included as disabilities under the Code?

In the Code, disabilities can include physical limitations, mental health, cognitive or intellectual development, learning, hearing, or vision. They also can include epilepsy, substance addictions, environmental sensitivities, and workplace injuries.

What is classified as a disability in Canada?

The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities describes persons with disabilities as those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which in interaction with various barriers may hinder their full and effective participation in society on an equal basis with others.

What are the three factors used to determine undue hardship?

Organizations are required to accommodate someone with a disability to the point of undue hardship. There are only three factors to consider in assessing undue hardship: cost, outside sources of funding and health and safety requirements, if any.

Is WCAG the same as ADA?

However, they’re markedly different in character. For instance, WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) is a compilation of accessibility guidelines for websites, and Section 508 is a federal law, whereas ADA is a civil rights law in the same ambit.