What is the Equal Opportunity Act Australia?

What is the Equal Opportunity Act Australia?

The Equal Opportunity Act 1984 (SA) prohibits discrimination in employment on the grounds of age, sex, sexuality marital status, pregnancy, race or physical and intellectual impairment. It also prohibits victimisation and sexual harassment, including sexual harassment of an employee by an employer or another employee.

When was the Equal Opportunity Act passed in Australia?

The Equal Opportunity Act was assented to on 20 December 1984 and came into force on 1 March 1986.

What is the purpose of the Equal Opportunity Act 2010 Vic?

Victoria has had an Equal Opportunity Act since 1977. The current Act is the Equal Opportunity Act 2010 (External link). The legislation protects people from discrimination on the basis of their individual attributes in certain areas of public life, and provides redress for people who have been discriminated against.

What are human rights Queensland?

Freedom of thought, conscience, religion and belief. Freedom of expression. Peaceful assembly and freedom of association. Taking part in public life.

What does the Equality Act 2010 protect against?

The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination in the workplace and in wider society. It replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single Act, making the law easier to understand and strengthening protection in some situations.

What are the 4 EEO principles?

There are four kinds of unfair and unlawful behavior that are important for equal employment opportunity: Discrimination including both direct and indirect discrimination. Sexual harassment. Unlawful adverse action.

Is equal opportunity a right?

Equal opportunity provisions have been written into regulations and have been debated in courtrooms. It is sometimes conceived as a legal right against discrimination.

What does the equal opportunity Act do?

The Equal Opportunity Act 2010 aims to make public life free from discrimination, sexual harassment and victimisation.

What are the 9 grounds of discrimination?

The inclusive school prevents and combats discrimination. It is one that respects, values and accommodates diversity across all nine grounds in the equality legislation – gender, marital status, family status, sexual orientation, religion, age, disability, race and membership of the Traveller community.