What is water category 2?

What is water category 2?

Category 2 = gray water. This means that the water is contaminated and may cause sickness of ingested. This type of water contains microorganisms. Broken toilets, broken sump pumps, and seepage may cause category 2 water damage.

What type of standard is S500?

Description. This Standard describes the procedures to be followed and the precautions to be taken when performing water damage restoration in residential, commercial, and institutional buildings, and the systems and personal property contained within those structures.

What is Cat 2 water damage?

A Category 2 water loss refers to a source of water that contains a significant degree of chemical, biological, or physical contaminants and causes discomfort or sickness when exposed or consumed. Known as “Gray Water,” this type of water damage carries microorganisms and nutrients of microorganisms.

Is rain water Cat 2?

Rainwater is Category 1 Water. Therefore, rainwater associated with tropical storms or hurricanes is predominantly evaporated water from a variety of sources and according to IICRC S500, falling rainwater is defined as Category 1.

What is a Class 2 water loss?

A class 2 water loss affects at least an entire room of carpet and cushion. Water has gone up the walls less than 24 inches. There is moisture remaining in structural materials like plywood, particle board, structural wood, VCT, and concrete. (Large amount of water).

What are the four classes of water?

Ground water. The ground absorbs water and retains it in soil and the pores of rocks.

  • Flowing water. Water found in streams, rivers and lakes with underwater currents can be reasonably clean.
  • Standing water. The term ‘standing water’ refers to any body of water that isn’t flowing or in motion.
  • Rainwater.
  • What category water is a slab leak?

    Class 4 Water Damage This refers to water that has stayed in an area for a long time and affected materials which are usually more resistant like hardwood, concrete, stone, etc.

    What are the categories of water loss?

    The Four Classes of Water Loss

    • Class 1: Slow Rate of Evaporation.
    • Class 2: Fast Rate of Evaporation.
    • Class 3: Fastest Rate of Evaporation.
    • Class 4: Specialty Drying Situations.

    What category is toilet water?

    Category 1 is water from a clean or sanitary source. Previously known as “clear water”, this descriptor has since been removed to reduce confusion. These can include water from broken clean water supply lines; clean water from toilet tank or bowl; faucets; and bottled water.

    What is a cat 3 water loss?

    Category 3 water loss involves water that is grossly contaminated and can contain pathogenic, toxigenic, or other harmful agents. Such water may carry silt, organic matter, pesticides, heavy metals, regulated materials, or toxic organic substances.

    What does Category 3 water mean?

    Category 3 water—Is grossly contaminated2 and can contain pathogenic, toxigenic, or other harmful agents.