Who won the AFC West in 1978?

Who won the AFC West in 1978?

Seattle Seahawks
Template:1978 AFC West standings

AFC West
view talk edit W PF
Seattle Seahawks 9 345
San Diego Chargers 9 355
Kansas City Chiefs 4 243

What were the NFL divisions in 1978?

Full Site Menu

  • AFC North: Bengals, Steelers, Browns, Ravens.
  • NFC East: Cowboys, Eagles, Football Team, Giants.
  • NFC South: Buccaneers, Saints, Falcons, Panthers.
  • NFC West: Rams, Cardinals, 49ers, Seahawks.

How many teams were in the NFL in the 70s?

16 NFL teams
Because there were 16 NFL teams and 10 AFL teams, three teams needed to transfer to balance the two new conferences at 13 teams each. The Baltimore Colts, Cleveland Browns, and the Pittsburgh Steelers agreed to join all ten AFL teams to form the American Football Conference (AFC).

Who were the original 8 teams?

The American Football League started play in 1960. There were eight original AFL teams: the Dallas Texans, Houston Oilers, Los Angeles Chargers, Buffalo Bills, New York Titans, Denver Broncos, Oakland Raiders, and Boston Patriots.

How long was the NFL season in 1978?

1978 NFL season

Regular season
Duration September 2 – December 18, 1978
Start date December 24, 1978
AFC Champions Pittsburgh Steelers

What were the NFL divisions in the 1970s?

Starting in 1970, there were three divisions (Eastern, Central and Western) in each conference. The winners of each division, and a fourth “wild card” team based on the best non-division winner, qualified for the playoffs.

What were the NFL teams in 1975?


  • Giants.
  • Eagles.
  • Cardinals.
  • Redskins.
  • Bears.
  • Lions.
  • Packers.
  • What are the 2 oldest NFL teams?

    Two charter members, the Chicago Cardinals (now the Arizona Cardinals) and the Decatur Staleys (now the Chicago Bears), are still in existence. The Green Bay Packers franchise, founded in 1919, is the oldest team not to change locations, but did not begin league play until 1921.

    Who won the 1978 NFC Championship Game?

    Dallas Cowboys
    NFC: Dallas Cowboys 27, Atlanta Falcons 20. After losing three fumbles and their starting quarterback due to injury in the first half, Dallas rallied back from a 7-point deficit with two touchdowns in the second half to secure the win.