Which country has the largest EEZ?

Which country has the largest EEZ?

Due to its numerous overseas departments and territories scattered on all oceans of the planet, France possesses the largest EEZ in the world, covering 11.7 million km2.

What means EEZ?

exclusive economic zone
The exclusive economic zone is the zone where the U.S. and other coastal nations have jurisdiction over natural resources. This NOAA map shows the U.S. exclusive economic zone.

What is the limit of EEZ?

two hundred nautical miles
—(1) The exclusive economic zone of India (hereinafter referred to as the exclusive economic zone) is an area beyond and adjacent to the territorial waters, and the limit of such zone is two hundred nautical miles from the baseline referred to in sub-section (2) of section 3.

Which country has the largest territorial waters?

The Exclusive Economic Zone: What It Is

Rank Country EEZ+TIA km2
1 France 12,366,417
2 United States 21,814,306
3 Australia 16,197,464
4 Russia 24,664,915

Does the US have an EEZ?

The U.S. exclusive economic zone (EEZ) extends 200 nautical miles offshore, encompassing diverse ecosystems and vast natural resources, such as fisheries and energy and other mineral resources.

Which country has the smallest EEZ?

(Photo: Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations.) Samoa’s exclusive economic zone (E.E.Z.) is the smallest in the region due to a quirk of geography and the Government is currently locked in negotiations to change its maritime boundaries, a top fisheries official has said.

Who controls EEZ?

An Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) is a zone in the sea prescribed by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS) over which a country has certain rights….Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) – UPSC Notes.

Special Economic Zone Dedicated Freight Corridors
Bus-Rapid Transit Corridor Bharatmala Pariyojana

What is EEZ in India?

India has the 18th-largest exclusive economic zone (EEZ) with a total size of 2,305,143 km2 (890,021 sq mi). It includes the Lakshadweep island group in the Laccadive Sea off the southwestern coast of India and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands at the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea.

Which country has 12 seas on its territory?

The United Kingdom extended its territorial waters from three to twelve nautical miles (5.6 to 22.2 km) in 1987.

Is EEZ a territory?

“Maritime zones beyond the territorial sea, such as the EEZ and continental shelf, are not considered to comprise part of a State’s territory under international law,” it added.

Who controls exclusive economic zone?