What are the four Brahma Viharas in Buddhism?

What are the four Brahma Viharas in Buddhism?

“abodes of brahma”) are a series of four Buddhist virtues and the meditation practices made to cultivate them….The Brahma-viharas are:

  • loving-kindness or benevolence (maitrī/mettā)
  • compassion (karuṇā)
  • empathetic joy (muditā)
  • equanimity (upekṣā/upekkhā)

What are the four Immeasurables in Buddhism?

Buddhism emphasizes the cultivation of four “sublime” or “noble” attitudes toward all beings: loving-kindness (friendliness), compassion (willing to cease suffering), appreciative joy (feeling happy for others), and equanimity (calm based on wisdom). These are known as the “four immeasurables” (Sujiva, 2007).

What are the 4 virtues of Buddhism?

All Buddhist traditions include the practices of the Four Immeasurables, sometimes known as the Four Brahmaviharas, or the Four Virtues of the Heart. These are loving-kindness, compassion, empathetic joy, and equanimity.

What are the 4 divine abodes?

Loving-kindness, compassion, altruistic joy, and equanimity are known as “the Four Divine Abodes (satara brahma viharanha)”. This name is given to these four qualities because the Mahā Brahma has these qualities.

Where do the Brahma-viharas come from?

The Buddha taught his monks to arouse four states of mind, called the “Brahma-vihara” or “four divine states of dwelling.” These four states are sometimes called the “Four Immeasurables” or the “Four Perfect Virtues.”

What is the metta Prayer?

The metta prayer of loving kindness is a prayer or mantra used as part of a loving-kindness meditation, or metta bhavana. This kind of meditation and use of a mantra is popular in the Buddhist tradition. The word, metta, comes from Pali and can be translated as “good will” or “loving kindness.”

Where do the Brahma Viharas come from?

What is threefold Bodhi?

The Buddha identified the threefold training (Sanskrit: triśikṣā; Pali: tisikkhā; or simply śikṣā or sikkhā) as training in: higher virtue (Pali adhisīla-sikkhā, Skt. adhiśīlaśikṣa) higher mind (Pali adhicitta-sikkhā, Skt.

What is the 3 fold way in Buddhism?

The Noble Eightfold Path is also known as the Threefold Way as it contains the three basic aspects of Buddhist life, which are ethics, meditation and wisdom.