When did Vajpayee lost by 1 vote?

When did Vajpayee lost by 1 vote?

On 17 April 1999, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition government led by prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee failed to win a confidence vote in the Lok Sabha (India’s lower house) by a single vote due to the withdrawal of one of the government’s coalition partners – the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( …

Why did Vajpayee government fall in 1996?

After the 1996 general election, the BJP emerged as the single largest party in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament. Vajpayee was invited by President Shankar Dayal Sharma to form a government, but after 13 days in office, proved unable to muster a governing majority and resigned.

When Atal Bihari Vajpayee lost election?

1989 Election The only time between 1957 and 2004 that A B Vajpayee did not contest the election.

Why Vajpayee govt fall?

Vajpayee’s government lasted 13 months until mid-1999 when the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) under J. Jayalalithaa withdrew its support. The government lost the ensuing vote of confidence motion in the Lok Sabha by a single vote on 17 April 1999.

Who was the first prime minister of India to face the no confidence motion?

Prime Minister Indira Gandhi faced the most no-confidence motions (15), followed by Lal Bahadur Shastri and P. V.

What are the achievement of Atal Bihari Vajpayee?

Among Vajpayee’s projects were the National Highways Development Project and Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana. In 2001, the Vajpayee government launched the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan campaign, aimed at improving the quality of education in primary and secondary schools.

Who was the first Prime Minister of free India?

Jawaharlal Nehru, was 58 when he started the long innings of 17 years as free India’s first Prime Minister. As the harbinger of a generational change in the country, Shri Gandhi received the biggest mandate in the nation’s history.

What is special about Atal Bihari Vajpayee?

Vajpayee was one of the co-founders and a senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He was a member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, a Hindu nationalist volunteer organisation. He was the first Indian prime minister not of the Indian National Congress to serve a full term in office.

Who was the first prime minister of free India?

Who was removed by no-confidence motion in India?

Vajpayee lost the no-confidence motion by a margin of one vote (269-270) in April 1999. Prime Minister Desai resigned on 12 July 1979. The most recent no-confidence motion was against the Narendra Modi government and accepted by the Speaker but defeated by 325–126.

Which Prime Minister submitted his resignation without facing the parliament?

Just before Singh was to prove his majority in Lok Sabha, Indira Gandhi withdrew support to his government, and he resigned on 20 August 1979, after just 23 days, the only PM who has failed to face parliament.

Who established RSS?

K. B. HedgewarRashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh / Founder

What is the salary of prime minister of India?

Prime Minister of India
First holder Jawaharlal Nehru
Deputy Deputy Prime Minister
Salary ₹280,000 (US$3,700) (per month) ₹3,360,000 (US$44,000) (Annual)
Website pmindia.gov.in

When was the first no confidence motion passed in India?

Acharya Kripalani moved the first-ever no-confidence motion on the floor of the Lok Sabha in August 1963, immediately after the disastrous Sino-Indian War. As of July 2019, 27 nonconfidence motions have been moved.

Which Prime Minister never attended Parliament?