What are the 6 dimensions of the ASAM criteria?

What are the 6 dimensions of the ASAM criteria?

Dimension 1 – Acute intoxication and/or withdrawal. Dimension 2 – Biomedical conditions and complications. Dimension 3 – Emotional, behavioural, or cognitive conditions and complications. Dimension 4 – Readiness to change.

How many dimensions are in the ASAM?

In ASAM’s multidimensional assessment, the six dimensions are used to summarize a person’s needs, define severity and develop a treatment plan. Clinicians use the dimensions to identify problems, goals and treatment plan objectives.

What are the 6 dimensions of change?

Marshak lists six dimensions of change: Reason, Politics, Inspirations, Emotions, Mindset, and Psychodynamics.

How do you use ASAM criteria?

Using The ASAM Criteria, patients can:

  1. Become active participants in their own care.
  2. Learn about, anticipate and understand treatment options and protocols.
  3. Use The ASAM Criteria’s six dimensions, or life areas, to better understand how risks. and strengths, skills and resources in one life area can affect another.

What is ASAM Dimension 2?

Dimension 2: Biomedical Conditions and Complications. Are there current physical illnesses, other than withdrawal, that need to be addressed because they are exacerbated by withdrawal, create risk or may complicate treatment? Are there chronic conditions that affect treatment?

What is ASAM 3.5 level of care?

Residential Services– Level 3.5 Clinically Managed, High-Intensity Residential Services. 24-hour structured living environment with high-intensity clinical services for individuals who have multiple challenges to recovery and require a safe, stable recovery environment combined with a high level of treatment services.

What is the Asam assessment tool?

ASAM CONTINUUM is an electronic assessment tool that allows clinicians, counselors, and other staff to leverage a computerized clinical decision support system (CDSS) to assess individuals with addictive substance use disorders and co-occurring conditions.

What does Asam stand for?

The ASAM criteria is the most widely used and comprehensive set of guidelines for placement, continued stay and transfer/discharge of patients with addiction and co-occurring conditions. Authoring Agency. American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM)

What does Asam Level 2 mean?

Level 2: Intensive Outpatient/Partial Hospitalization Services. Level 2 encompasses services that are capable of meeting the complex needs of people with addiction and co-occurring conditions.

What are the 4 main stages of the continuum of care?

Stage 1—Treatment engagement. Stage 2—Early recovery. Stage 3—Maintenance. Stage 4—Community support.

What is ASAM 3.1 level of care?

Level 3.1 programs are appropriate for patients whose recovery is aided by a time spent living in a stable, structured environment where they can practice coping skills, self- efficacy, and make connections to the community including work, education and family systems.

What is a 3.3 level of care?

The American Society of Addiction Medicine designates level 3.3 as the level of residential substance use disorder treatment delivered to those suffering from cognitive impairments.