What are the 5 principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi?

What are the 5 principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi?

Treaty principles.

  • Quality improvement.
  • Knowledge.
  • Leadership.
  • Planning, resourcing and evaluation.
  • Outcome/performance measures and monitoring.
  • What are the three P’s in the Treaty of Waitangi?

    the principles of partnership, participation and protection
    The “3 Ps” comprise the well-established Crown Treaty framework – the principles of partnership, participation and protection.

    What is Wai 262 Waitangi Tribunal report?

    The Wai 262 inquiry is one of the most complex and far-reaching in the Tribunal’s history. It is the Tribunal’s first whole-of-government inquiry. It is also the first Tribunal inquiry to specifically address the Treaty relationship beyond the settlement of historical grievances.

    What does taonga katoa mean?

    Maori ownership of land and other taonga (treasures) The Maori version of the Treaty guaranteed “te tino rangatiratanga o o ratou wenua or ratou kainga me o ratou taonga katoa”, which may be translated as “the unqualified exercise of their chieftanship over their lands over their villages and over their treasures all”.

    What is Article 4 of the Treaty of Waitangi?

    This is the addition to the Treaty now referred to as the fourth article. This article ensures that Māori and Pākehā alike have the freedom and protection to practise their religion, faith and cultural customs.

    What are the 3 Treaty principles?

    The three “P’s”, as they are often referred to, are the principles of partnership, participation and protection. These underpin the relationship between the Government and Māori under the Treaty of Waitangi. These principles are derived from the underlying tenets of the Treaty.

    What is the meaning of Manaakitanga?

    showing respect, generosity and care
    Manaakitanga means the process of showing respect, generosity and care for the people who use services, their whānau and communities. It also means to show respect and care for their information and stories. Mana is the essential lifeforce within a person, place or object.

    What are the principles of Whanaungatanga?

    Whanaungatanga is about relationship, kinship and a sense of family connection. It is created through shared experiences and working together and provides people with a sense of belonging. It comes with rights and obligations, which serve to strengthen each member of that whānau or group.

    Who does the Waitangi Tribunal make recommendations to?

    Waitangi Tribunal Te Rōpū Whakamana i te Tiriti o Waitangi The Waitangi Tribunal is a standing commission of inquiry. It makes recommendations on claims brought by Māori relating to legislation, policies, actions or omissions of the Crown that are alleged to breach the promises made in the Treaty of Waitangi.

    What is te Arawhiti?

    This is a new Crown agency dedicated to fostering strong, ongoing and effective relationships with Māori across Government. Our name, Te Arawhiti, means ‘the bridge’. The name symbolises the bridge between Māori and the Crown, the past and the future, and the journey from grievance to partnership.

    What does Te Tino Rangatiratanga mean?

    Te tino rangatiratanga means something like ‘total. control’, responsibility” ‘complete. ‘absolute.

    What does full exclusive and undisturbed possession mean?

    MIZAN. “The full exclusive and undisturbed possession of their lands, forests, fisheries and other properties which they may collectively or individually possess so long as it is their wish and desire to retain the same in their possession…” UN-2.