Who is a mandatory reporter in CT?

Who is a mandatory reporter in CT?

Under Connecticut statutes all social workers are mandated reporters of suspected abuse and neglect of children, the elderly and persons with mental retardation. The law and reporting process varies for each of these populations so social workers are advised to familiarize oneself with the specifics of each law.

Which type of law or laws can contain mandatory reporting requirements?

The Federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) requires each State to have provisions or procedures for requiring certain individuals to report known or suspected instances of child abuse and neglect. 1 For this publication, information regarding mandatory reporting laws was collected for all States.

What types of abuse must be reported?

that California law requires mandatory reporting of known or suspected:

  • • Child abuse and neglect.
  • • Elder and dependent adult abuse.
  • • Domestic violence.

Is Connecticut a state the requires mandatory reporting of elder abuse and mistreatment?

The law requires certain professionals (i.e. mandated reporters) to report suspected abuse, neglect, abandonment, or exploitation of the elderly to the Department of Social Services (DSS) within 72 hours.

Who of the following are mandated reporters of elder abuse?

Mandated reporters are healthcare providers, licensed or unlicensed social service providers for vulnerable adults, paid or unpaid caretakers, care custodians, the clergy, and other professionals in a position of trust who suspect elder or dependent adult abuse or neglect, including self-neglect.

Who is a mandated reporter in Massachusetts?

Mandated reporters Any person paid to care for, or work with, a child in any public or private facility, home or program funded or licensed by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to provide child care or residential services. Child care resource and referral agencies (CCR&Rs) Voucher management agencies.

How many US states have mandatory reporting laws?

In approximately 18 States and Puerto Rico, any person who suspects child abuse or neglect is required to report. Of these 18 States, 16 States and Puerto Rico specify certain professionals who must report but also require all persons to report suspected abuse or neglect, regardless of profession.

What is the meaning of mandatory reporting?

Mandatory reporting refers to the legal requirement of certain groups of people to report a reasonable belief of child physical or sexual abuse to child protection authorities.

Does emotional abuse need to be reported?

Especially in cases of child abuse, doctors, teachers, social workers and others who have direct contact with children have a legal obligation to report child abuse, including emotional abuse. (In some states, everyone is a mandatory reporter when it comes to child abuse.)

What age is considered elderly in CT?

sixty years of age or older
(1) The term “elderly person” means any resident of Connecticut who is sixty years of age or older.

What constitutes elder abuse in CT?

Under Connecticut law (CGS §§ 17a-412) and (CCGS 17b-450) elder abuse includes, but is not limited to, the willful infliction of physical pain, injury or mental anguish, or the willful deprivation by a caretaker of services which are necessary to maintain physical and mental health.