Why is it called DACH?

Why is it called DACH?

What is DACH? An abbreviation DACH stands for D — Deutschland (Germany), A — Austria, CH — Confœderatio Helvetica (Switzerland). Therefore, it refers to German-speaking Europe.

What are the DACH countries?

The DACH region refers to three Central European countries. DACH is an acronym that stands for D — Deutschland, A — Austria, and CH — Confœderatio Helvetica (Switzerland’s official name in Latin).

What language is DACH?

German language
D-A-CH or DACH is an acronym used to represent the dominant states of the German language Sprachraum. It is based on the international vehicle registration codes for: Germany (D for Deutschland) Austria (A for Austria, in German “Österreich”)

Is Switzerland part of DACH?

The DACH region in Europe comprises the countries of Germany (D), Austria (A), and Switzerland (CH).

What is Daach?

It is German-speaking Europe. DACH is an acronym used to describe Germany (D), Austria (A), and Switzerland (CH). These neighboring countries represent the largest community where German acts as the de-facto nationwide official language and is the first language of the vast majority of the people.

What does CH stand for in Switzerland?

Confoederatio Helvetica
The letters CH appearing on Swiss cars and in internet addresses stand for the Latin words Confoederatio Helvetica, meaning Swiss Confederation.

How do you pronounce DACH region?


  1. IPA: /dax/, [däχ]
  2. Rhymes: -ax.
  3. audio. 0:01. (file)
  4. Homophone: Dach.

Do they speak German in Argentina?

While Argentina’s official language is Spanish, Argentina has enjoyed so much international migration that Arabic, Italian, German, English, and French are also spoken—at least in pockets throughout the country. There are also over one million speakers of various tribal languages, including Quecha and Guaraní.

What language do they speak in Switzerland?

Switzerland/Official languages

How many countries have DACH?

The DACH region refers to the three Central European countries of Germany (D), Austria (A), and Switzerland (CH).