What climate zone is Pakistan in?

What climate zone is Pakistan in?

temperate zone
Pakistan lies in the temperate zone. The climate is generally arid, characterized by hot summers and cool or cold winters, and wide variations between extremes of temperature at given locations.

Is Pakistan in tropical zone?

In much of Pakistan, the climate is tropical or subtropical, semi-arid or desert, but in the north, the area af the foot of the mountains is is quite rainy, moreover, we find a cold area in the mountains and a frigid area on the peaks of the Himalayas.

Which two zones is Pakistan located?

Pakistan is o o geographically situated approximately between 24-37 N latitudes and 62-75 E longitudes in the western zone 2 of south Asia. The country occupies a total geographical area of 803943 km .

How many climate regions are in Pakistan?

On the basis of temperature, Pakistan has been classified into five regions i.e. hot, warm, mild, cool, and cold. The southern parts of Pakistan have high temperature (28oC at Hyderabad) that decreases toward north upto 10oC at Astore.

Where are the climate zones?

The Earth has three main climate zones: tropical, temperate, and polar. The climate region near the equator with warm air masses is known as tropical. In the tropical zone, the average temperature in the coldest month is 18 °C. This is warmer than the average temperature of the warmest month in the polar zone.

How many climatic regions are in Pakistan?

2.2. Based on monthly and annual means of temperature, Pakistan has been divided into six temperature regions i.e. hot, warm, mild, cool, cold and undifferentiated highland (Teble-3). The boundaries have been selected in accordance with the criteria laid down for the worldwide classification of climates.

Which climate zone is Lahore in?

semi-arid climate
Lahore features a five-season semi-arid climate (Köppen climate classification BSh) (from another source: Composite monsoon climate) with five seasons: foggy winter (30 Nov – 15 Feb) with few western disturbances causing rain; pleasant spring (16 Feb – 15 April); summer (15 April – 30 June) with dust, rain storms and …

What are the 4 climatic zones of Pakistan?

The climate of Pakistan is divided into four main climatic regions or zones i.e. Highland Climate, Low land Climate, Desert/Arid Climate, Coastal/Maritime Climate.

What is in the north of Pakistan?

Pakistan is bordered by India to the east, Afghanistan to the northwest and Iran to the west while China borders the country in the northeast.

What is the climatic importance of northern mountains of Pakistan?

The northern mountain barrier influences the precipitation pattern in Pakistan by intercepting monsoon (rain-bearing) winds from the south. Melting snow and glacial meltwater from the mountains also feed the rivers, including the Indus, which emerge from the east-west-aligned ranges to flow southward.

What are the 5 climatic zones?

one of five classifications of the Earth’s climates: tropical, dry, mild, continental, and polar.

What are the 4 main climate zones?

There are 4 major climate zones:

  • Tropical zone from 0°–23.5°(between the tropics)
  • Subtropics from 23.5°–40°
  • Temperate zone from 40°–60°
  • Cold zone from 60°–90°