What is a Class 1 Division 2 hazardous area?

What is a Class 1 Division 2 hazardous area?

Class I, Division 2 Location. Volatile flammable liquids or flammable gases or vapors exist, but are normally confined within closed containers; Ignitable concentrations of gases, vapors or liquids are normally prevented by positive mechanical ventilation; or.

Does Class 1 Div 2 require explosion proof?

A Class I Division 2 light are not held to as high of a standard as Division 1 products. To meet the requirements for Division 2, a light does not have to be able to contain an explosion. Instead, they must be found to be unable to cause an explosion in environments for which they are approved to be used.

What is a Class 1 Div 2 enclosure?

So a Class 1 Division 2 Enclosure is used in facilities that deal with flammable gases, vapors, and liquid materials. Additionally, the facility handling, processing, or using the materials in the defined hazardous location contain concentrations insufficient to be ignitable.

What is a Class 1 Division 2 location OSHA?

Note to the definition of “Class I, Division 2:” This classification usually includes locations where volatile flammable liquids or flammable gases or vapors are used, but which would become hazardous only in case of an accident or of some unusual operating condition.

What is a Class I location?

Class I Locations A “Class I Location” is created by the presence of flammable gases or vapors in the air in sufficient quantities to be explosive or ignitable. When these materials are found in the atmosphere, a potential for explosion exists if an electrical or other source of ignition is present.

Is NEMA 4X good for Class 1 Div 2?

We recommend electrical enclosures meet or exceed a NEMA rating of Type 4 or Type 4X for use in a Class1 Div2 hazardous location when used with appropriate purge systems.

What makes a light explosion proof?

The designation ‘explosion proof’ doesn’t mean that the lighting fixture will survive explosions or fires fully intact. Instead, it means the light’s design contains sparks that would otherwise cause fire or explosion in confined spaces. The lighting fixture encases inside a thick frame with extremely robust lenses.

What NEMA rating is Div 1 1?

NEMA 7 Indoor
NEMA 7 Indoor use in locations classified as Class I, Division 1, Groups A, B, C or D hazardous locations as defined in the National Electric Code (NFPA 70) (Commonly referred to as explosion-proof).

Which of the following wiring methods is permitted to be used in Class II Division 1 locations?

In Class II, Division 1 locations, the following wiring methods shall be permitted: Threaded rigid metal conduit (Type RMC) or threaded steel intermediate metal conduit (Type IMC). Type MI cable with termination fittings listed for the location.

What is a Class 1 gas?

The NEC Division Classification Systems uses Classes and Groups to identify hazards: Class I represents gases & vapors. Class II represents explosive dusts. Class III represents hazardous (flammable) fibers.

Is NEMA 4X good for Class 1 Div 1?