What is a red listed plant?

What is a red listed plant?

Red List. Any species or ecosystem that is at risk of being lost (extirpated, endangered or threatened) Element Types. Status Ranks. Animals and Plants.

What does it mean for a species to be red listed?

Categories span a continuum from “Least Concern” for abundant and thriving species to “Critically Endangered” for those that are likely to disappear in the near future. Highly trusted by scientists and policy makers worldwide, the Red List informs major species conservation policies and decisions.

Does the Red List include plants?

What taxa are included on The IUCN Red List? Animals, plant and fungi species, subspecies, varieties (plants only) and subpopulations can be assessed on the Red List.

What does it mean when a species is listed?

Background. A species is listed as endangered or threatened when the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service determines it is in danger of extinction in the near future or is likely to become in danger of extinction in the foreseeable future.

What are two uses for Red List?

It is a catalogue of taxa that are facing the risk of extinction. The uses of red list are (i) developing awareness, about the threat of loss of biodiversity (ii) identification and documentation of endangered species (iii) providing a global index of the decline of biodiversity (iv) defining conservation.

How many plants are on the Red List?

The IUCN Red List has listed 132 species of plants and animals from India as “Critically Endangered”.

How are listed species protected?

Animals are protected from “take” and being traded or sold. A listed plant is protected if on federal property or if federal actions are involved, such as the issuing of a federal permit on private land.

How many plants are on the endangered species list?

There are 6147 plant species which are endangered or critically endangered.

What is a blue listed species?

Blue List species are of special concern because they have biological or life-history characteristics that make them particularly vulnerable to natural or human-caused disturbance. Species that are are recovering from being threatened or endangered may be blue-listed.

What categories does the Red List use to maintain an online listing of endangered species?

It divides species into nine categories: Not Evaluated, Data Deficient, Least Concern, Near Threatened, Vulnerable, Endangered, Critically Endangered, Extinct in the Wild and Extinct.